Our Family Favourite Ferment: Cauliflower

Our Family Favourite Ferment: Cauliflower
I realize that I have a proportionately high number of recipes with cauliflower, like Garlicky Cauliflower Medallions and Bibimbap. In those recipes cauliflower is a substitute (flour, rice); in this recipe, cauliflower shines as itself.

Our Family Favourite Ferment: Cauliflower

My kids aren’t huge fans of fermented food with a strong taste – they turned up their noses at milk kefir (when we drank dairy), weren’t fans of kombucha, haven’t taken to fermented cucumber pickles, and are divided on raw sauerkraut (they do all like it cooked, like in Strapacky). All of them, however, like fermented cauliflower. My toddler twins dig in the jar themselves for white morsels of probiotic goodness. The older girls snack on it. My husband likes it. I like it (of course).

I’m not sure why cauliflower is such a winner. Perhaps it’s because it doesn’t get as sour, even when fermented for a long time. Maybe because it stays crunchy without being hard. For the maker, it’s easy to boot – no kneading, grating, pounding, or thinly slicing. Just break or cut up the cauliflower, throw in a jar, and pour over a salt brine.

I like to add other veggies as well – here I put in garlic and carrots. I find my ferments work better when I can add a vegetable from a home garden that is clean but not scrubbed, as they still have the bacteria we want to proliferate. In this case it was little carrots.

The reasons to eat fermented foods are numerous; in a nutshell, they are chock full of probiotics that are responsible for the health of your gut, which in turn is responsible for your overall health, immunity, and even state of mind. They have more strains of probiotics, as opposed to supplements, and are very much alive (the live state of supplements is questionable). Even the vitamin and enzyme content of foods are increased by fermenting. The benefits of fermented foods deserves it’s own post (or you can use google!). Should I write one?

Some fermenting purists will advocate that fermenting should only be done in a water-lock crock or air-lock jar. My own unscientific opinion is that it’s better to make something fermented than waiting to do it ‘properly’. As long as the vegetables are under the brine, you should be fine. For more information on this debate, I liked Food Renegade’s take. I do have a post coming with tips on how to keep vegetables under the brine, as they rise with fermentation.

I don’t like to use whey, however, and not just because we can’t eat dairy. When I did use whey, the results were soggier and prone to white scum. The Liberated Kitchen explains why she doesn’t use whey for vegetable ferments, demonstrating that whey and fermented veggies actually have different kinds of probiotics. Each are good in their own right, but not so much to mix.

I have 3 liter jars that I use – you can use any size of jar, though you may need more than one, or any vessel that will hold vegetables, liquid, and a top. Adjust the amounts I have given as needed. There is some leniency as to the amount of salt you add, I like the taste of 2 tbsp/30ml of salt per liter/quart of water. Feel free to add more if you like a saltier ferment.

fermented cauliflower 2 web

Fermented Cauliflower (or any hard vegetable)

1 head cauliflower
carrots, peeled garlic, etc (optional)
3 liters/quarts water
6 tbsp/90ml (unrefined) salt
sauerkraut juice or water kefir (optional)

If your water has chlorine, either boil, filter, or let sit out in an open container for 24 hrs to rid the water of chlorine. If you boil it, let the water cool to room temperature. Mix 2 tbsp of salt per liter/quart of water, stir to dissolve.

Fill the jar(s) with washed but not scrubbed veggies. I break or cut the cauliflower into chunks, carrots into sticks, and leave the garlic cloves whole. Pour over the salt brine. Adding a couple tablespoons of fermented veggie juice or water kefir can help speed things along, but it’s not necessary. Leave at least a few cm/inch at the top of the jar. To help keep the veggies under the brine, I put a cabbage leaf over it a push down so some brine comes over top. Put on the lid. My jar has a plastic lid that bulges when the gas builds up so that I can see to release some pressure. If you have a hard lid, make sure to open it slightly now and then so that the pressure doesn’t build too high.

Leave out at room temperature for a few days, the veggies will rise up from the bottom. If it is hot, the fermenting process will be faster than in cooler temps. At this point you can start eating the veggies, you can move the jars into the fridge to continue to ripen. Eat as snacks, as a condiment to a main meal, cut up in salad, or any other way you can think of.

How do you like to get in probiotics? What is your favourite ferment?

Our Family Favourite Ferment: Cauliflower

Shared at Fat Tuesday, Hearth and Soul Blog Hop, Tasty Tuesdays, Real Food Wednesday, Allergy Free Wednesday, Gluten Free Wednesday, Pennywise Platter Thursday, Simple Meals Fridays, Unprocessed Fridays, Savoring Saturdays, Thank Goodness It’s Monday, Paleo AIP Recipe Roundtable

31 thoughts on “Our Family Favourite Ferment: Cauliflower

    • I think so too πŸ™‚ I usually take pictures when they are sleeping because they like to get so involved, but this photo was relatively disaster safe (provided the jar didn’t get pushed off the table).

  1. I am soooo excited to try this! Love fermented foods and I think your recipe is simple for me to follow. I have had fermentation disasters in the past and this is a chance at redemption! πŸ™‚

  2. These look absolutely delicious, I am definitely going to make them! We love our version of kimchi and the kids adore kombucha so I think they won’t have a problem with fermented cauliflower. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the recipe.

    • Hope you enjoy! I’m going to try to get the kids to learn to like water kefir…here’s hoping. My husband and I like kimchi too, and the toddlers, but the older girls not so much, sigh.

  3. Pingback: Hearth and Soul Blog hop: 3/24/2014: Small Treats Edition - Zesty South Indian Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Simple Meal Friday #78 - Nourishing Simplicity

  5. This recipe looks delicious AND it fits the paleo autoimmune protocol (a rare thing). So, thank you! I recently started a weekly Paleo AIP Recipe Roundtable through my blog, and I would love it if you linked up this recipe. I’m trying to expand resources for the AIP community, and dairy-free fermented foods are so important to healing. Here’s the link: http://www.phoenixhelix.com/2014/03/26/paleo-aip-recipe-roundtable-20/

  6. I just finished making them. Now, I wait….. πŸ™‚ I used pink Himalayan salt which I hand grind so I think the salt is denser. I have a scale but it doesn’t do ml, but it seems online that grams is extremely closer to ml (1.06), so I used 30 grams of salt for 1 L of water. Hope that was correct. I measured out the spoons of salt just to see and it was about 1.6 tbsp of salt. I’m guessing the coarser grind? Oh, I also didn’t have a cabbage leaf so I used two kale leaves.

    • Yay! It should be about 2 tbsp of salt per liter. If you were able to add pre-cultured brine it will be ok, if you weren’t, well, I guess you’ll find out. The kale leaves will work! Let me know how it goes!

  7. do you think I should add some pre cultured brine right now or is it too late? I have cultured pickle juice or sauerkraut in the fridge.

  8. Naomi, so I finally decided to male this two days ago. It’s already so good. Just don’t know how many days it shoul take… How will I recognize it’s done? 3-4 days? 5-6? Also, does the pressure need to build up in the process of fermentation? I think I have the same plastic cover, but it’s a bit loose. Is that ok? After my appendix surgery I need to eat some healthy specials…

    • When did you have appendix surgery??! Rest up well! Telling when it is done is up to taste really. When it is out it works faster, when in the fridge it slows down. The longer it sits the more sour it gets. I find it perfect after about 3-4 days, then you can put it in the fridge. The pressure builds up as a result of fermentation, if the lid is loose it will let itself out, if it’s tight you’ll need to ‘burp’ it once in a while. As long as the cauliflower is well covered in brine it’s ok if the lid is a little loose.

      • Thank you, I think I am becoming addicted to this stuff. I eat it as a snack all day long.
        I had an unexpected surgery before Easter. I am ok, but still experiencing some stomach issues…

      • I think sometimes when we need probiotics we crave it once we start to eat it. My sister was here and practically devoured 3 litres of kimchi herself. And I ate all the fermented apple.
        Take care of yourself!!

  9. Hey, I had a bit trouble forcing girlfriend to eat more fermented stuff so your luck with the kids motivated me πŸ™‚ And it works ! Somehow the cauliflower has just the right balance of sour, crunchy and everything else. And best of all – she likes it, A LOT ! I used beet kvas as a starter so the whole batch is nicely pink πŸ™‚ A legendary win win for me, thanks for that! Not sure how is your slovak language but : zdravime z Australie !

    • Sweet! Getting the other half to consume ferments can sometimes be tricky πŸ™‚
      Rozumiem po slovensky (vecinou) ale Cesky moc nie, deti viac vedia lebo pozeraju rozpravky po Cesky. Ahoj! πŸ™‚

      • I’ve been trying to leave comments on your blog but it won’t recognize my captcha answers so I’ll just say here that your hikes in Australia look amazing! Especially the light in the canyon and the beehives. What great adventures!

      • Thanks for that so much! Any kind words or comments are always welcome πŸ™‚
        I have successfully done the fermented apple chutney and it was very good. But the cauliflower is a staple now πŸ™‚

Leave a comment